A Whole Lot of News Today

Wow…news is sure rolling out fast in Oakland today. Scratch “today” I mean tonight…since all of this happened after Fan Appreciation Day & the game. Let’s see, where do I begin…

– First off…Cust is put on ASSIGNMENT!?!?! Are you serious? I just saw him today talk to us fans about this up coming season. This came completely out of the blue. I figured him or Powell would be our DH. But sounds like Beane wants Chavez to take over that spot competely. Well see how this goes.

– In better news, Gonzalez grabbed the 5th spot. I’m happy for him, he seems to really be getting more and more comfortable on the mound. Congrats Gio!

– Next up, Crisp was put on the DL because he dislocated his finger sliding into second during last night’s game against the Giants. Hopefully it’s not too bad, and he can make a quick comeback. Because now that we don’t have Cust (I’m still not over that one yet) I’m not sure who they will put in for the time being. My first pick would be Buck, but I’m not sure how he has been performing lately. We shall see.

– I was originally going to start my blog about Fan Appreciation Day today…but as you can see other news got in the way. I’ll try and post pictures that I took tomorrow.

2 comments

  1. SLY

    2.65m playing for the RiverCats. NICE!!! That was a little nuts. Ahh- Cust will be back in 3-6 weeks after Chavey’s body gives out.

    I think this move shocked most people.

    Gio looked good against Los Gigantes on Saturday.

    Shaun

    The Three Bs

    “The $200 French Fries”

    • opinion4athletics

      I hope Cust comes back. I’m not sure why Beane thought he should get rid of him, and only rely on Chavez. Esp. since Chavez hasn’t played a full season since ’06 I believe. Thanks for the info on Gio. I was there for fan appreciation day…just not at the game. But I’m really happy he made the 5th spot on our roster…he’s improved so much in the past season & a half. Can’t wait for tonight’s opening game!
      – Opinion4Athletics

Leave a comment